André Francis, the Mr. Jazz of French radio from 1946 to 1997, presented this new quintet, taking care to specify that the drummer with such a distinctive sound was only 17. After warming up on an “Autumn Leaves” in which Tony Williams displayed several highly unusual figures, the quintet took off, in “Milestones” with a diabolical rhythm. It was Tony Williams who wanted to go back to this piece, in honor of the earlier quintet with Philly Joe Jones. One quickly understands that without ever imitating it, Williams connected to this luminous tradition that from Max Roach to Philly Joe Jones so effectively stimulated Miles. Miles engaged in a continual dialogue with the drummer, who constantly exchanged mischievous turns with Herbie Hancock, around Ron Carter’s double bass, which firmly anchored the tempo throughout his fellow musicians’ most daring risks.

Original issue: Columbia LP CL 2183 on July 13, 1964
Producer: Teo Macero
Engineer: Recorded by ORTF French Radio
Tracks 2, 5 and 7 were originally issued on CL 2183 in edited form.
Miles Davis (tpt); George Coleman (ts); Herbie Hancock (p); Ron Carter (b); Tony Williams (d)
Recorded live at The Festival Mondial du Jazz Antibes, Juan-Les-Pins, France on July 27,1963

  1. Introduction by Andre Francis
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. Milestones
  4. I Thought About You*
  5. Joshua
  6. All of You
  7. Walkin’

* Not on original LP