In order to raise money for the African Research Foundation, Miles appeared at Carnegie Hall, joined by Gil Evans on several pieces including “Spring Is Here,” inspired by a Bill Evans arrangement. The atmosphere was tense. Miles, in the wings, confided his stage fright to a bottle of bourbon while Teo Macero prepared to record the concert on the theater’s mono equipment, in secret since the trumpeter had refused the idea. The thrilling introduction to “So What,” arranged by Gil Evans, began the evening on a note of grace. Soon the rhythm section crackled like dry wood, inciting Miles and Hank Mobley to outdo themselves. Miles, who thrived on conflict, would be well served. After intermission, while the concert resumed with “Someday My Prince Will Come,” Max Roach displayed placards on stage denouncing the colonial character of the African Research Foundation. Miles left the stage. Persuaded to return, he showed his anger
in the fire and blood he brought to “Oleo” before gradually calming down for the grand finale of “Concierto De Aranjuez.”

Original issue: Columbia LP CL 1812 on July 16, 1962
Producer: Teo Macero
Engineer: Unknown
(a) Miles Davis (tpt); Hank Mobley (ts); Wynton Kelly (p); Paul Chambers (b); Jimmy Cobb (d)
(b) Ernie Royal (tpt); Bernie Glow (tpt); Johnny Coles (tpt); Louis Mucci (tpt); Jimmy Knepper
(tb); Dick Hixon (tb); Frank Rehak (tb); Julius Watkins (frh); Paul Ingraham (frh); Bob Swisshelm (frh); Bill Barber (tuba); Romeo Penque (cl, fl); Jerome Richardson (cl, fl); Eddie
Caine (cl, fl); Bob Tricarico (cl, fl); Danny Bank (cl, fl); Janet Putnam (harp); Elvin Jones (perc); Bob Rosengarden (perc); Gil Evans (arr, cond)

Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, NYC on May 19, 1961


  1. So What [a] [b]
  2. Spring Is Here [b]
  3. Teo [a]
  4. Walkin’* [a]
  5. Medley: The Meaning Of The Blues/Lament* [b]
  6. New Rhumba [b]



  1. Someday My Prince Will Come [a]
  2. Oleo [a]
  3. No Blues [a]
  4. I Thought About You* [a]
  5. En Aranjuez Con Tu Amor (adagio from Concierto de Aranjuez)* [b]

* Not on original LP