11 Member Ensemble Featuring Miles Davis Alumni Revises Framework For Modern Jazz Improvisation

“Hard to fathom a more professional, traditional and progressive set of jazz musicians all in one band” – Huffington Post

(Chicago, IL) – Monterey International is pleased to announce the signing of the Miles Electric Band, an eleven member, All-Star ensemble featuring Miles Davis alumni, for exclusive booking representation. The progressive, avant-garde, experimental collective, known for revising the framework for modern jazz innovation, revisits repertoire from Davis’ electric period in paying homage to The Chief. Miles Electric represents two generations of Miles Davis players; his contemporaries and the next generation.

The project is produced by Miles Davis Properties LLC , who are celebrating the legendary trumpeter’s 90th birthday year with special releases, including the #1 Jazz, #5 R&B/Hip Hop Billboard album Everything’s Beautiful by Miles Davis and Robert Glasper. The reimagined interpretation of Davis’ music features Erykah Badu, Stevie Wonder, Bilal, Illa J, Laura Mvula, John Scofield, Ledisi, KING, Hiatus Kaiyote, Phonte and more.

Additionally, the major motion picture Miles Ahead, starring Don Cheadle,a co-writer who also makes his directorial debut, along with the accompanying Miles Aheadsoundtrack, which explores Davis’ musical innovations, combining 11 highlights from his Prestige and Columbia Records catalogs with original new compositions written and performed by Grammy Award-winning jazz/hip-hop artist Robert Glasper.

“We’re extremely excited to be with Monterey International,” comments Miles Electric drummer/band leader Vince Wilburn, Jr., nephew of Miles Davis. “We’re ready to tour the world.”

The eclectic and highly innovative group was put together by Wilburn, Jr. with the intention to continue expanding the boundaries of Davis’ music, while also paying homage to the classics. Miles Electric will perform at the Black Sea Festival in Georgia, Russia on July 16. The band recently sold out SF Jazz Festival (June 2016).

Principle members of Miles Electric include two time GRAMMY® nominee John Beasley and Robert Irving, III on piano; GRAMMY® nominee Badal Roy on tabla; legendary P-Funk guitarist Blackbyrd McKnight; acclaimed percussionists Munyungo Jackson and Mino Cinelu; GRAMMY® winning drummer Vince Wilburn, Jr.; saxophonist Antoine Roney (Lenny Kravitz, Elvin Jones), iconic bassist Darryl Jones (Rolling Stones, Sting) and hip hop turntablist DJ Logic. Rotating members include renowned programmer/re-mixer Jeremy Ellis, widely known for his work with The Roots; percussionist Abbos Kosimov; Debasish Chaudhurion tabla and additional keyboardist Greg Spero. Trumpeters include Wallace Roney, Etienne Charles, Christian Scott and Sean Jones.

The Miles Electric Band’s debut performance was at the Miles Davis Festival in Chicago in 2011 with a sold-out, standing room only crowd at Martyrs. This was followed up by another sold-out performance at the Hollywood Bowl in 2012, which also served to launch the record-breaking Miles Davis U.S. postage stamp, with more than 23 million in sales to date. In 2014, Miles Electric Band sold out the SF Jazz Center and received a standing ovation.

The earliest incarnation was called Bitches Brew Re-Mix, celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Bitches Brew, with their first performance at Silverlake’s famed Sunset Junction Fair, featuring a live re-mix by J-Rocc from the Beat Junkies.

The live concert Miles Electric All-Star group will be touring globally 2016/2017 and beyond.

For more information:

Booking Contact:

Garry Buck
Michael Morris
Monterey International
[email protected]
[email protected]