Miles Davis: Miles Davis At Fillmore: Live At The Fillmore East

Miles Davis: Miles Davis At Fillmore: Live At The Fillmore East
Miles Davis At Fillmore: Live At The Fillmore East

Teo Macero meticulously edited the four concerts at the Fillmore East in June 1970 so
that they would fit onto a double-LP album. The group now included two keyboards:
Chick Corea took over the electric piano and the newcomer Keith Jarrett, in spite of his
aversion to electric keyboards, contented himself with a small electric organ, a Fender
Contempo. Jarrett, who venerated Miles, went along, very playfully, spicing up the free
deliriums of the Corea-Holland-DeJohnette trio, without, however, being able to really
participate: the two keyboards were located on opposite sides of the stage and the still
rudimentary sound system of the powerfully amplified music prevented them from
hearing one another. Each musician used the bass ostinatos—the only identifiable elements
in the pieces—to get their bearings (along with, on Wednesday night, a variation
on the riff from “Bitches Brew,” a significant revelation of Jarrett’s approach). The
female face in the cover’s patchwork is that of Miles’ new girlfriend Marguerite
Eskridge, the future mother of his third son Erin.
Original issue: Columbia LP G 30038
on October 28, 1970
Producer: Teo Macero
Engineer: Stan Tonkel
Miles Davis (tpt); Steve Grossman (ss, ts);
Chick Corea (el-p); Keith Jarrett (org);
Dave Holland (b, el-b); Jack DeJohnette (d);
Airto Moreira (perc, voc)
Recorded live at the Fillmore East, NYC
June 17-20, 1970

Disc 1

1 Directions [a]
2 Bitches Brew [b]
3 The Mask [c]
4 It's About That Time [e]
5 Bitches Brew/The Theme [f]
6 Directions [g]
7 The Mask [h]
8 It's About That Time [i]

Disc 2

1 It's About That Time [a]
2 I Fall In Love Too Easily [b]
3 Sanctuary [c]
4 Bitches Brew/The Theme [d]
5 It's About That Time [e]
6 I Fall In Love Too Easily [f]
7 Sanctuary [g]
8 Bitches Brew [h]
9 Willie Nelson/The Theme [i]

Toutes les langues

  • United States
  • France